Association of College and Research Libraries Oregon Chapter

Minutes of Membership Meeting October 26, 1989 Pack Forest, WA

The meeting was called to order by President Maureen Sloan. Membership and Treasurer's reports were distributed.

Maureen gave an update on OLA division status and indicated that all is proceeding as planned. Maureen is now a member of the OLA board as is Michael Engle who is Member-At-Large. ACRL also has five members on the OLA Legislative Committee: Jim Morgan, Oregon Health Sciences University; Teri Rohe, Portland State University; Sue Burkholder, Southern Oregon State University; Lynn Chmelir, Linfield College; and Carol Henderson, Central Oregon Community College.

Maureen requested volunteers to serve on OLA Long Range Planning Committee and Continuing Education Committee.

Michael Engle reported on the joint OLA & OEMA retreat that was held in Silver Falls.

ACRL election results were announced. Karyle Butcher, Oregon State University, was elected Vice President/President Elect. The new At-Large members are Jan Fortier, Portland State University, and Sue Burkholder, Southern Oregon State College. Roy Bennett, Western Oregon State College, was appointed to represent OSSHE schools, and Eva Calcagno was appointed as the State Library representative. Deborah Fetch agreed to continue as Newsletter editor.

Maureen announced that Maureen Sullivan of Yale University will be the banquet speaker at OLA in April. Nancy Powell, co-chair of OLA's Program Committee, indicated that ACRL has two more program slots available.

Pam Horan, representative of the Documents Interest Group of Oregon distributed a position paper "Public Access to State Government Information in Electronic Format". She presented the concern of DIGOR regarding limited public access to state produced information in electronic format.

Maureen asked for suggestions for the next ACRL joint conference to be held at Menucha.

The membership meeting was adjourned.