OLA Information, 2019-2020

List of Officers

President: Elaine Hirsch, Lewis & Clark College

Vice President: Kate Lasky, Josephine Community Library District

Past President: Esther Moberg, Seaside Public Library Treasurer: Lori Wamsley, Mt. Hood Community College Secretary: Laura Baca, Cedar Mill Community Library Parliamentarian: Buzzy Nielsen. Crook County Library

ALA Representative: Kirsten Brodbeck-Kenney, Driftwood Public Library

OASL Representative: Laurie Nordahl, North Bend H.S.; Kate Weber, Grants Pass H.S.

Member at large: Star Khan, Driftwood Public Library

State Librarian: Jennifer Patterson

Location and theme of annual conference

COVID-19 forced the cancellation of the 2020 annual conference with the theme "Equity, Diversity, Inclusion". The conference was scheduled for April 29-May 2, 2020 at the Riverhouse on the Deschutes in Bend. Liisa Sjoblom, Deschutes Public Library, was the conference chair. The conference would have also recognized and celebrated the 80th anniversary of OLA. The contract's Force Majeure clause helped to free OLA from liability due to the late cancellation.

Legislative activity

- ALA in-person National Library Legislative Day canceled due to COVID-19
- Census 2020--For the first time, responses were collected online, by phone, and by mail. The State Library provided Census resources and support for Oregon libraries.

Notable awards/honorary memberships

The COVID-19 shutdown occurred when nominations for OLA awards were announced, and distracted from the nomination process. No nominations received or awards given for the first four categories below.

OLA Legislator of the Year:

OLA Librarian of the Year:

Library Employee of the Year:

Library Supporter of the Year:

Distinguished Service Award: Sara Charlton, Tillamook County Library Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award: Korie Buerkle, Newberg Public Library

Pearl Award: Victoria Campbell, Beaverton City Library

Outstanding events that you remember

COVID-19

The global pandemic upended plans for the second half of the OLA fiscal year including cancellation of the annual conference. The following public statements were released:

- OLA Statement to Close Public, Academic, Tribal and Special Libraries 03/18/20
- OLA and Intellectual Freedom Committee Joint Recommendation on Contact Tracing 06/18/20
- OLA Statement Against Public Library Layoffs 08/07/20

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI)

- Equity, Diversity, Inclusion named as 2020 conference theme
- EDI Task Force established to develop an EDI Plan for OLA. Task Force chairs were Marci Ramiro Jenkins, McMinnville Public Library, and Martín Blasco, Washington County Cooperative Library Services.
- EDI Task Force develops and presents Task Force recommendations to OLA Board 04/29/20. Recommendations for improvement fall under three broad categories: 1) Affirm OLA's commitment to Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racism. 2) Improve the diversity within OLA with recruitment, retention, and support. 3) Support anti-racist libraries and librarianship in Oregon with educational resources.
- EDI Special Committee established with Marci Ramiro Jenkins, McMinnville Public Library, and Alma Plasencia, Salem Public Library, serving as co-chairs. The EDI Committee will meet regularly and serve as advisors to the OLA Board.
- OLA Quarterly 25(2) focused on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion featuring nine articles by Oregon library workers. The last article in the issue was negatively received by many readers as privileged and racist and the OLA President issued two responses and apologies for the impact of the article. An editorial response was included in the following issue of the OLAQ.
- OLA Strategic Plan includes new area of focus to actively commit to being an equitable, diverse, inclusive, and anti-racist organization.

Strategic Planning 2020-2023. Vice President/President-elect Kate Lasky and Past President Jane Corry collaborated with President Elaine Hirsch in developing an updated three year strategic plan for OLA which was approved by the Board at the August 2020 board meeting. A membership survey with 194 responses informed the strategic plan. The three areas of focus are: 1) Actively commit to being an equitable, diverse, inclusive, and anti-racist organization 2) Strengthen OLA's leadership and advocacy role across the state and 3) Increase engagement in OLA and enrich the membership experience.

OLA Quarterly transition

OLA contracted with Oregon State University Libraries to host the OLA Quarterly on their Open Journal Systems platform. The OLAQ journal migration from former host Pacific University Libraries to OSU Libraries occurred during the association year.

The Fall 2019 issue 25(3) was not published, and content was pushed to the Winter 2019 issue, 25(4). Plans were initiated to restructure the Communications Committee during the 20-21 association year. The Communications Committee chairperson and OLA Quarterly Coordinator will be distinct positions with two new volunteers and OLAQ editorial guidelines will be strengthened.

Pacific Northwest Library Association (PNLA)

The OLA President was invited to serve as an ex-officio member of the PNLA Board. PNLA has transitioned from a state association-driven to an individual membership-driven organization. A Memorandum of Understanding between OLA and PNLA will be presented and discussed during an upcoming OLA Board Meeting in an attempt to reestablish a connection between OLA and PNLA

Oregon Digital Library Consortium (ODLC)

ODLC inquired about OLA providing an organizational home for the consortium in order to provide LSTA fiscal support beginning in FY20. The Board approved this arrangement. A similar inquiry was made by NWILL, however COVID derailed the continuing conversation.

Sincere thanks to the OLA Board, unit leaders, and active members for their dedicated service during the 2019-2020 association year, and a special thank you to Vice President/President-elect Kate Lasky, OLA Parliamentarian Buzzy Nielsen, and OLA Association Manager Shirley Roberts for their support during my presidential year.

Elaine Gass Hirsch Oregon Library Association President, 2019-2020 September 8, 2020