## **OLA Information, 2010-11**

#### **List of Officers**

President: Robert Everett

Vice President: Robert Hulshof-Schmidt Past President: Connie Anderson-Cahoon

Treasurer: Liisa Sjoblom Secretary: Emily Papagni

Parliamentarian: Steve Skidmore

ALA Representative: Hannah Gascho Rempel

OEMA Representative: Susan Stone Member at large: Anne-Marie Deitering State Librarian: Jim Scheppke, OSL

#### Location and theme of annual conference

Hotel, Salem Conference Center, Phoenix Grand Hotel April 6-8, 2011 "Libraries Build Communities Build Libraries"

Notable speakers: Kathleen Cornett, VP of Programs – Oregon Community Foundation

Dave Anderson – Radio & Television Personality – KEX 1190 Radio

KATU - TV

Molly Raphael – ALA President-Elect 2010-11

## **Notable awards/honorary memberships**

OLA Distinguished Service Award: Pierina (Perri) Parise

OLA Legislator of the Year: Not in Session

OLA Librarian of the Year: Anne-Marie Deitering

Library Employee of the Year: Sandi Richie

Library Supporter of the Year: Heather Staten & Arthur Babitz, Hood River County Library

District

Honorary Life Membership: Jim Scheppke

OLA Intellectual Freedom Award: Katie Anderson Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award: Hope Crandall

Ole Award: Jennifer Keirans

OYEA! You're Excellent Award: Anne Tran

ACRL Award for Excellence: UO Libraries' Oregon Digital Newspaper Program

## ORCA Oregon Reader's Choice Awards:

Junior Division – <u>The Stonekeeper (Amulet Book 1)</u> by Kazu Kibuishi

Intermediate Division – <u>Elephant Run</u> by Roland Smith Senior Division – <u>The Hunger Games</u> by Suzanne Collins

# Outstanding events that you remember

- -- A complete revision of the OLA By-Laws was approved at the OLA Conference General Membership meeting.
- In response to the OLA Vision 2020 study the Executive Board initiated the following Activities:
  - 1. Created a **Membership Task Force** to articulate and advocate the merits of participating in OLA.
  - 2. Created a **Branding Task Force** to formulate better strategies for marketing OLA to our library community and to the community at large.
  - 3. Create better, more effective **Communications** tools by streamlining and integrating existing formats & publications including OLAQ and the OLA Hotline
  - 4. Created the **Virtual Collaborations Task Force** to test and implement the use of online meeting software/services.
  - 5. Prepared draft of proposed **OLA/OASL merger** documentation to be voted on by the membership at a future time.
  - 6. Supported the inaugural **Oregon Reader's Choice Award (ORCA)** co-sponsored by CSD & OYAN.
- Congratulated long-time OLA Parliamentarian, Steve Skidmore as he stepped down.
- Congratulated retiring State Librarian, Jim Scheppke.

My thanks to all in OLA for your trust, support, and encouragement. I am grateful for the opportunity and better for the experience.

Thank you

Rob Everett