## OLA Information, 2011-2012

## **List of Officers**

President: Abigail Elder, Tualatin Public Library

Vice President: Michele Burke, Chemeketa Community College

Past President: Rob Everett, Springfield Public Library
Treasurer: Liisa Sjoblom, Deschutes Public Library
Secretary: Arlene Weible, Oregon State Library

Parliamentarian: Buzzy Nielsen, Hood River County Library District ALA Representative: Hannah Gascho Rempel, Oregon State University

OASL Representative: Susan Stone, Portland School District

Member at large: Laura Madsen, Centennial Elementary School Library

State Librarian: Jim Scheppke and MaryKay Dahlgreen

Location and theme of annual conference: Bend. Oregon Libraries: Right at the Heart of

Things

Hotel: RiverHouse, Bend, Oregon

April 25-27, 2012

Notable speakers: Robert Killen, Executive Director, City Club of Central Oregon

Stephen Abram, Gale/Cengage

**Legislative activity:** OLA members worked to ensure that libraries were recognized partners in the newly formed Early Learning Councils. State Librarian MaryKay Dahlgreen was later appointed to an ELC workgroup. Many school libraries were eliminated or greatly reduced by school districts facing significant budget cuts.

National legislative concerns included continued LSTA funding, cybersecurity monitoring, and public access to taxpayer-funded research.

## Notable awards/honorary memberships:

OLA Legislator of the Year: None

OLA Librarian of the Year: Ruth Murray, Portland State University Library Employee of the Year: Rea Andrew, Newberg Public Library Distinguished Service Award: Ellen Fader, Multnomah County Library

Library Supporter of the Year: Ann Malkin, board member of Deschutes Public Library

Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award: Linda Bellock, Salem Public Library

Ole Award: Esther Moburg, Creswell Public Library OYAN Award: April Witteveen, Deschutes Public Library

## **Outstanding events that you remember:**

Jim Scheppke retired after 20 years of service to Oregon libraries; OLA welcomed MaryKay Dahlgreen as the Oregon State Librarian.

Robert Hulshof-Schmidt resigned as OLA President in February; Vice-President Abigail Elder assumed the presidency. A special election was held for Vice-President/President-Elect in March and Michele Burke was elected to serve an abbreviated term.

Both OLA and Oregon Association of School Librarians overwhelmingly approved a merger at their respective conferences. OASL became a division of OLA on July 1, 2012.

The OLA Conference in Bend was very successful, with over 480 attendees. Todd Dunkelberg, Deschutes Public Library chaired the conference committee. Robert Killen's talk "Building Dialogue in the Age of Demons" was a powerful highlight of the conference.

OLA embraced video conferencing, using GoToMeeting software. Roughly half of the board members attended any given meeting remotely, and some divisions held meetings entirely via GoToMeeting.

Funded by LSTA grants, donations, and fundraising by OLA Past Presidents, \$21,800 was awarded in scholarships to MLS students.

Under the leadership of Emily Papagni, the Membership Committee surveyed OLA units to determine their volunteer needs and then posted those as "want ads" on the website. Many new members have assumed new responsibilities throughout the organization as a result.

Eva Calcagno led a group of library directors from around the state to lay the groundwork the *Oregon Library Passport Program*. The Passport provides reciprocal borrowing privileges between library systems, so that Oregon residents who work, study or visit away from their home library could borrow materials.

A small committee led by Jane Scott and Anne-Marie Deitering created policies and procedures for providing OLA resources (such as web registration and video conferencing capabilities) when partnering with outside organizations.

OLA Board appointed a small committee to begin work on OLA Reads 2014, a celebration of William Stafford centennial.

Library Technology Roundtable was created. BIGOR, Library Districts, and Volunteer Roundtables were dissolved.

New OLA Logo was created in 2010-11. This year, the OLA website, letterhead, and other media were updated to reflect the new logo and color scheme. An OLA Facebook page created.