OLA Information, 2007-2008

List of Officers

President: Sarah Beasley Vice President: Mary Ginnane Pas President: Aletha Bonebrake Treasurer: Shirley Roberts Secretary: Brandon Barnett Parliamentarian: Steve Skimore ALA Representative: Suzanne Sager OEMA Representative: Merrie Olson PNLA Representative: Steven Engelfield State Librarian: Jim Scheppke, OSL

Location and theme of annual conference

Hotel(s): Vancouver Hilton; Red Lion at the Quay Date: April 16-18, 2008 Theme: Sharing More Than a Border

Notable speakers: Keynote Thomas Frank Banquet: Stuart Robertshaw

Legislative activity: The Legislature was not in session this year, but perhaps the most significant activity of the year was the development (out of the Legislative Committee) of the *Management of Public Libraries in Oregon white paper*

Notable awards/honorary memberships

OLA Legislator of the Year: Suzanne Bonamici OLA Librarian of the Year: Michael Gaston Library Employee of the Year: Jan Griffin, Eugene Public Library Library Supporter of the Year: Stayton Public Library Foundation Honorary Life Membership: Richard Turi Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award: Carmen Bernier-Grand Ole Award: Leah Griffith

Outstanding events that you remember

- Management of Public Libraries in Oregon white paper written and approved as an association policy by the board. (http://data.memberclicks.com/site/ola/leg_PolicyPaperManagement.doc)
- Dues increase was adopted at annual business meeting held at conference
- Oregon Authors committee was awarded \$24,500 LSTA grant to develop Oregon Authors Website
- Establishment of the Wise and Retired librarians Round Table

• PAIL petition

The Association and the Portland Area Information Literacy Group cosponsoered a petition to the Portland Public Schools Superintendent supporting school libraries and their importance preparing students for further education, careers and lifelong learning

• Nonexclusive agreement with Ebsco to distribute *OLA Quarterly* in full text in Ebsco database products