Minutes: March 30, 1998

Oregon Library Association Executive Board Hilton Hotel Eugene, Oregon

Attending: Gary Jensen, President; Carol Ventgen, PNLA Rep; Anne Carter, Chair of Trustees and Friends Div; Patrick Duke, Chair Intellectual Freedom Committee; Anne Billeter, Chair Publications Committee; Anne Van Sickle, Chair Legislative Committee; Anne Christie, Chair Resource Sharing Committee; Barbara Jenkins, Chair Conference Program; Steven Engelfried, Chair Children's Services Div; Sue Plaisance, OYAN Chair; Sara Charlton, President-Elect; Ed House, Past President; Shirley George, HAS Chair; Andrew Bonamici, Treasurer; Aletha Bonebrake, Chair Public Libraries Div; and Wyma Rogers, Secretary

Proxies for absent members included Anne Billeter holding a proxy for Ronnie Budge and Wyma Rogers for Janet Webster.

Minutes were approved with two corrections passed to Rogers from Jim Scheppke.

President Jensen announced that Anne Christie would be chairing the Resource Sharing Committee.

He also said that early reports indicated that conference attendance was down a bit, about 150 under the targeted registration.

Bonamici reported that the association has \$81,507 in cash on hand. He distribute copies of a report at the first general membership meeting. House asked if we had figures on the final profit from last year's joint conference. Bonamici said that it was about \$27,000.

House reported that he has sent out five RFP's for negotiating the conference site in 2000. Recipients include Metropolitan Group, Jim Hayden, Nan Heim, McCulley's and a group at PSU. He expects proposals in two weeks. Jensen said that Sun River has shown an interest in hosting the 2001 conference.

Rogers presented the slate of candidates running for office as follows:

- President-elect: Barbara Jenkins, Terry Rohe
- ALA Rep: Carole Dickerson, Deborah Carver
- PNLA Rep: Patty Sorenson, Nancy Spaulding
- Secretary: Maresa Kirk, Jey Wann

Sarah moved that the Executive Board accept the slate of candidates. House seconded. Approved.

Rogers suggested that the difficulties in finding the right person for a committee or office might be addressed in several ways. She said we could ask the current committee to recommend the chair for the coming year as well as new members. Also, there should be a sanctioned way for members of OLA who want to run for office to nominate themselves. And, the Past Presidents should consider developing a leadership training program.

Charlton reported that she and Jensen are finishing up the proposal for an executive director for OLA. This proposal continues the work begun by House and would include the conference manager and management services duties. They expect it to be ready for the Executive Board to review before August. The slate of awards was presented by Shirley George, Chair of the HAS Committee, Steven Engelfried, Chair of the Children's Services Division, Aletha Bonebrake, Chair Public Library Division, and Patrick Duke, Chair of the Intellectual Freedom Committee. Awards include:

- Library Supporter of the Year: Virginia Hite, Sherwood Public Library
- Library Employee of the Year: Robin Cram, Forest Grove Public Library
- Lampman Award: Barbara McKillip of the Libri Foundation
- OLE Award: Eva Calcagno, Chair of the Statewide Task Force On Electronic Resources for Libraries
- Librarian of the Year: Karyle Butcher, OSU Valley Library
- Intellectual Freedom: Deborah Jacobs, formerly Corvallis-Benton County Public Library; Mary Ginnane, Oregon State Library

House moved the slate be approved; Charlton seconded. Approved. Bonamici said that OLA will buy lunches for those who receive awards at the Tuesday luncheon.

Anne Billeter presented a proposal from the Oregoniana Round Table that they become a committee that can have membership from outside the organization, much as OYAN has now. She presented the required 25 signatures as well. The proposal was handed out for review purposes and discussion at a later meeting.

Jensen handed out the Marylhurst information and technology program proposals for comment.

Brief reports included Carter promoting the Trustees upcoming workshops; Engelfried reminding of the conference program on the guidelines and announcing that Jill Heffner was elected as new chair of Children's Services Division; Duke handing out an interpretation of the Family Act, Billeter mentioning that Charlton is writing the winter Quarterly issue and that the OLA Quarterly is now being indexed in Library Literature. Christie said that she is getting the Resource Sharing Committee together for an organizational session.

Next meeting of the Executive Board: May 22, 10 - 3, at Mount Angel. Adjourned.

Wyma Jane Rogers Newport Public Library wyma@newportnet.com