Library Development and Legislative Committee

Establishes plans for improvement of libraries in Oregon through study and recommendation of plans for the use of state and federal funds; exploration of other sources of funding, e.g., foundation grants. Establishes priorities for legislative action which may affect all types of libraries in Oregon.

Check out our Engage site, courtesy of ALA, for current information on legislation and advocacy issues.

OLA's Legislative Agenda is updated annually. We use this to guide our actions.

Contacting Congress?  Here are the staff contacts for each office.  These are the people that work with libraries and that know libraries. 

Please use the following links to navigate this page.

Legislative Day Committee Members
Current Issues & Briefs Meeting Minutes
Issues & Briefs Archive  


Current Issues & Briefs

2016/17 ISSUES

 Legislative Day 2017

 February 21, 2017

 2015 Issues

Ongoing Issues

Issues & Briefs Archive

Issue briefs are archived.  Please contact the committee co-chairs if you are looking for one prior to the 2015 Legislative Session. 

Committee Members


  • Abigail Elder, Beaverton Public Library (2-year term as chair, 2017/2019)


  • Kate Lasky, Josephine Community Libraries (2018)
  • Rachel Bridgewater, Portland Community College (2019)
  • Brooke Robertshaw, Oregon State University (2019)
  • Ted Smith, Newport Public Library (2019)
  • Sue Ludington, Washington County Law Library (2019)

Ex Officio Members:

  • Network Coordinator: vacant
  • OLA President: Buzzy Nielsen, Crook County Library
  • OLA President Elect: Esther Moberg, Seaside Public Library
  • OLA Past President: Elsa Loftis, Oregon College of Art and Craft Library
  • OLA Intellectual Freedom Chair: Ross Betzer, Multnomah Public Library
  • State Librarian: MaryKay Dahlgreen
  • State Law Librarian: Cathryn Bowie
  • OLA Lobbyist: Amanda Dalton
  • OASL Representatives: Paige Battle, Portland Public Schools
  • ACRL Representative: Kim Olson-Charles, Columbia Gorge Community College

Emeritus Members:

  • Aletha Bonebrake, Baker County Library District patron
  • Diedre Conkling, Lincoln County Library District
  • Janet Webster, Lincoln County Library District patron
  • Sara Charlton, Tillamook County Library (Legislative Day Coordinator)

Meeting Dates 2016/2017:  Salem  2:00 Pm 4:00 pm 

  • September 8 – State Library  Room 202
  • November 10  - State Library  Room 202
  • January 12 - State Library  Room 202
  • March 9 - State Library  Room 202
  • May 11 - State Library  Room 202


Meeting Minutes (will open as Word documents)