OLA Annual Awards 

2024 Awards

On April 26, 2024, the Oregon Library Association (OLA) presented awards to individuals or organizations in recognition of their work in support of libraries in Oregon. OLA congratulates award recipients and is pleased to honor them for their commitment, support, and promotion of Oregon libraries. Video of the awards ceremony is forthcoming!

Annual Nominations

Who has done an outstanding job or taken on a project or been responsible for a success in our libraries this year? Tell us about those talented, dedicated individuals whose commitment to excellent library service has made a difference. The OLA Awards Committee want to know who those individuals (or groups) are and we want you to tell us!

Nominations may come from all types of libraries and from all kinds of librarians, staff and supporters. Awards for 2025 will be presented to recipients at the 2025 OLA Conference in Eugene. 

Nominations for the 2025 awards will open in late 2024. Nominations are accepted for the following awards:

Oregon Librarian of the Year
Library Employee of the Year
OLA Distinguished Service Award
OLA Anti-Racism Recognition Award
Library Supporter of the Year
OLA Honorary Lifetime Membership

Please use the OLA Awards Nomination Form (currently closed) to submit your nomination. Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s qualifications, a list of contributions to OLA (if applicable) and no more than 6 letters of support for the nomination. Questions? Please contact Arlene Weible, Awards Committee Chair, [email protected]

Award Details

See also Chapters 31-32 of OLA Bylaws and Policies

Oregon Librarian of the Year may be awarded to any Oregon librarian who has been working in an Oregon Library for at least two years in a paid professional position.  The nominee must demonstrate excellence in library service in his or her community and to Oregon libraries.  The nominee must be a member of OLA.

Oregon Library Employee of the Year may be awarded to any Oregon library staff member who has worked in an Oregon library for at least two years as a paid staff member and demonstrated excellence in library service in his or her community.

Oregon Library Association Distinguished Service Award may be awarded to any Oregon librarian or library staff member, who has been in the profession for 15 or more years, has worked in Oregon libraries for at least ten years, and is currently a member of OLA, for exceptional service over a period of years.

OLA EDI Anti-Racism Recognition Award Award may be awarded to any Oregon Library or library employee with an outstanding commitment to anti-racism. Nominee must show a proven track record of creating antiracist change in their library or library system in at least one of the areas: 1) contribute to the success of an initiative that empowers oppressed minorities and disadvantage individuals; 2) help destroying systematic/structural racism in their library or library systems; 3) inspire and encourage Anti-Racism culture at their libraries, presenting, implementing or revamping EDI processes, procedures, terms, conditions and code of conduct to better reflect anti-racism principles; 4) advocate, participate in outreach and community work dedicated to oppressed minorities and disadvantaged individuals; or 5) create a pipeline for BIPOC to become library staff.  Award created in February 2021.

Oregon Library Supporter of the Year may be awarded to any volunteer, volunteer group, library Friend, board member, government official, or other individual who is not a paid library staff member and who has demonstrated excellence in supporting and promoting Oregon libraries.

OLA Honorary Lifetime Membership may be conferred upon any Oregonian who is retired or near retirement and who has shown leadership in librarianship and made a notable contribution to library service in Oregon. To be eligible for honorary membership, an individual shall have made a contribution of outstanding and lasting importance to Oregon libraries and have a record of active involvement in the Association. Honorary life membership recognizes an accumulation of years of service. 

Past OLA Award Winners

OLA Awards Committee members

Arlene Weible, Chair
Sonja Somerville, Salem Public Library
Ayn Frazee, OASL President
Bryan Miyagishima, Lincoln County Library District
Sara Trott, Oregon State University Libraries & Press