For current nominees and voting go to:


2016 ORCA Winners

Upper Elementary School Division Winner,

       Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein 

Middle School (Intermediate) Division Winner,

      Counting By 7's by Holly Goldberg Sloan

High School (Senior) Division Winner,

      The Living by Matt de la Pena

This year we held the 6th annual Oregon Reader’s Choice Award, co-sponsored by 3 OLA divisions (OASL, CSD, OYAN), along with the Oregon Reading Association and the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association.

 If you have any photos or stories about your ORCA experience this year, please send them to [email protected]olaweb.org or comment on the blog.  If you haven't held an ORCA vote at your location, the ORCA blog has booktalks, links to trailers, bookmarks and ballots.

What is the ORCA?
The Oregon Reader's Choice Award was founded in 2010.  The award is intended to be a fun and exciting way for Oregon youth in grades 4-12 to become enthusiastic and discriminating readers.  During the course of the school year, Oregon students choose their favorite book in a real-life democratic process.

How are the books chosen?
Books must be nominated for inclusion on the ORCA ballot.  In order to be considered, the book needs to have a copyright date of two years prior to when the ballots are announced.  This delay ensures that the title will be readily available in paperback during the voting year.  Oregon students, teachers, and librarians are all able to nominate books.  The nominations are reviewed by a committee of librarians and educators.  The committee creates the final ballots based upon a number of criteria, including literary quality, creativity, reading enjoyment, reading level, and regional interest.

Who may vote?
Oregon students in grades 3-12. To qualify for voting, the person must have read, or listened to, at least 2 books in one of the divisions.

When does voting take place?
Voting takes place online between March 1-31. 

The 2014-2015 ORCA Committee
Nina Kramer (Albina Library, Portland)
[email protected] 

Oregon Young Adult Network (OYAN)
Elizabeth LaShomb Christley (Lake County Libraries, Lakeview)
Lisa Elliott (Tigard Public Library)
Teena Nelson (Driftwood Public Library, Lincoln City) 

Oregon Reading Association (ORA)
Beth LaForce (George Fox University)
Marie LeJeune (Western Oregon University)
Karren Timmermans (Pacific University)

OLA’s Childrens Services Division (CSD)
Melanie Hetrick (Tillamook County Library, Tillamook)
Jessica Marie (Salem Public Library)
Denise Willms (Willamina Public Library)

Oregon Association of School Librarians (OASL)
Kathryn Harmon (Neahkahnie School, Rockaway Beach)
Kiva Liljequist (Metropolitan Learning Center, Portland)
Laurie Nordahl (North Bend High School, North Bend)

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association (PNBA)
Kira Porton (A Children’s Place Bookstore, Portland)