IF Logo

About the Intellectual Freedom Committee

Duties, Goals and Responsibilities of the Intellectual Freedom Committee

      • To aid development of OLA's position on intellectual freedom, interpret it to the public, and act in support of this position.
      • To inform membership of pending legislation, present recommendations, and tender OLA's support of such legislation.
      • To promote development by libraries of  policies related to intellectual freedom, including selection, privacy and electronic transmission.
      • To determine facts in cases of public controversy over censorship, develop a statement of OLA's position, and present OLA's position to all interested parties.
      • To develop liaison with other statewide organizations interested in intellectual freedom.
      • To respond to the OLA President's charge. 
Committee Members

      • Perry Stokes, Co-Chair (Baker County Library District)
      • Emily O'Neal, Co-Chair (Deschutes Public Library)
      • Miranda Doyle, OASL IF Chair (Lake Oswego Schools) 
      • Kirsten Brodbeck-Kenney (Driftwood Public Library)
      • Ellie Avis (Josephine Community Library)
      • Lori Moore (Multnomah County Library) 
      • Steve Silver
      • Erin Sims (Multnomah County Library)
      • Katlyn Temple (Chetco Community Public Library)
      • Tamara Ottum, ex officio (State Library of Oregon)

Contact information for the committee, including listserv and social media, is available on the Contact IFC webpage.


  • Oregon Library Association Conference (Virtual): April 21, 2021 8:30 AM
  • (Virtual): June 11, 2021, 9:30 AM
  • (Virtual): September 17, 2021, 9:30 AM
Meetings are held online and via phone using Zoom. Contact [email protected] if you are interested in attending one of the committee meetings.