IF Logo

About the Intellectual Freedom Committee

Duties, Goals and Responsibilities of the Intellectual Freedom Committee per OLA Bylaws

      • To aid development of OLA's position on intellectual freedom, interpret it to the public, and act in support of this position.
      • To inform membership of any pending legislation, that would strengthen the positions of libraries and other (media) avenues of communication as instruments of knowledge and culture in a free society, to present its recommendations, and to tender the Association's support of such legislation.
      • To inform membership of any pending legislation ,that would jeopardize the freedom of the press and the freedom of inquiry; to inform legislators of the Association's point of view, and to appear before the Legislature in opposition to any bill which would abridge the citizen's freedom to read.
      • To determine facts in cases of public controversy over censorship, develop a statement of OLA's position in relation to the controversy, and to present the Association's position to all interested parties, including the press, when this is judged wise or necessary.
      • To promote development and adoption by libraries of policies that reflect diverse points of view and to collect and make available examples of materials selection policies for all types of libraries.
      • To develop liaison with other statewide organizations interested in intellectual freedom for the purpose of working jointly to defend intellectual freedom and, when necessary, to issue joint statements.
      • To respond to the OLA President's charge. 
Committee Members (Nine)

      • Perry Stokes, Co-Chair (Baker County Library District)
      • Emily O'Neal, Co-Chair (Deschutes Public Library)
      • Miranda Doyle, OASL IF Chair (Lake Oswego Schools) 
      • Kirsten Brodbeck-Kenney (Driftwood Public Library) *RESIGNATION ANNOUNCED. TO BE FILLLED
      • Ellie Avis (Josephine Community Library)
      • Lori Moore (Multnomah County Library) 
      • Steve Silver
      • Erin Sims (Multnomah County Library)
      • Katlyn Liddell (Chetco Community Public Library) *RESIGNATION ANNOUNCED. TO BE FILLLED
      • Tamara Ottum, ex officio (State Library of Oregon)

Contact information for the committee, including listserv and social media, is available on the Contact IFC webpage.


  • (Virtual): June 17, 2022, 9:30 AM
Meetings are held online and via phone using Zoom. Contact [email protected] if you are interested in attending one of the committee meetings.